HSTW Ohio Network Recipient of the Battelle Army Education Outreach Program (AEOP) Strategic Outreach Grant


HSTW Ohio Network, a not for profit organization supporting High Schools That Work (HSTW) and Making Middle Grades Work (MMGW), is the recipient of the Army Education Outreach Program (AEOP) Renewal Strategic Outreach Grant managed by Battelle. This grant will support the Rural STEM Collaborative (RSC) of Black River, Mapleton, New London, Northwestern, and Wellington School Districts.

The AEOP Renewal Grant award for $149,100 was announced on August 24, 2018 and will support a five district effort to increase participation of underrepresented and underserved students in the AEOP programs Junior Solar Sprint for students in grades 5 through 8 and eCybermission for students in grades 6 through 9.  The grant funding is from September 1, 2018 through August 31, 2019 with the districts committing to sustain the program after the grant funding period.

HSTW Ohio Network was the only renewal grant awarded during the most recent national competition which included 25 respondents, 8 first year grant recipients, and 1 renewal grant recipient – HSTW Ohio Network. 

HSTW Ohio Network joins the first year’s AEOP Strategic Outreach Partners: 

Girl Scouts of Alaska, Virginia Commonwealth University, Savannah State University, Science Buddies, SECMS, Tiger Woods Foundation, University of Maryland, Wayne State University

Previous partners include: DC STEM Network, Carnegie Academy for Science Education (Washington, D.C.), EduCare Foundation (Van Nuys, Calif.), Harmony Public Schools (Houston, Texas), The Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute and the Center for Educational Outreach at Johns Hopkins University, The Northwest Ohio Center for Excellence in STEM Education at BGSU, The State University of New York (Albany, N.Y.), The Sanford PROMISE, Sanford Research (Sioux Falls, SD), Society of Women Engineers (SWE) (Chicago, Ill.), TechBridge (Oakland, Calif.), Tiger Woods Foundation (TWF) (Irvine, Calif.), and Washington STEM.

“The hands-on, real world learning students experience in quality STEM education prepares them to succeed,” said Aimee Kennedy, Vice-President of Education, STEM Learning and Philanthropy at Battelle. “Thousands of students in rural schools deserve access to these programs. These schools are creating a model that other communities can follow to create more opportunity for the next generation.”

Jeffrey Layton, superintendent Northwestern Local Schools, stated "More success! We continue to partner with Black River and Mapleton Local Schools, and now New London and Wellington to increase STEM education opportunities for rural students. Through the AEOP grant, we will be able to increase our K-12 STEM pipeline and STEM careers in our central Ohio region and develop a model approach for implementing AEOP programs in rural schools. The goal is to share this approach nationally."

Brad Romano, Superintendent, New London Local Schools, “I am proud of our students, teachers and parents that supported our JSS Teams and go the extra mile to offer these types of opportunities for our students. We are now positioning ourselves as not only an outstanding K-12 STEM school in Ohio, but nationally through program like eCybermission and Junior Solar Sprint. Our relationship with HSTW Ohio Network has provided additional support and services that have enhanced the learning environment for our teachers, and students. At New London, we pride ourselves on the partnerships that have added value to our students’ education and opening doors to future STEM careers.” 

Junior Solar Sprint (JSS) engages student teams of 3 to 4 students, grade 5-8, in local, regional and national competition where students design, build and race solar powered cars using hands-on engineering skills and principles of science and math. JSS is designed to support STEM instruction in areas such as alternative fuels, engineering design, and aerodynamics. The teams with join the national Technology Student Association (TSA) and network with STEM school throughout the country.

eCybermission is a web-based STEM competition where teams of 3 to 4 students working with a teacher advisor proposes a solution to a real world problem in their community. The teams will compete at the local, state, region and national levels. Student teams choose a Mission Challenge that must be researched, tested and solved with parent and teacher advisor support. Ambassadors and Cyberguides (civilians and military) assist teams through school visits or virtually. Nationally qualifying teams will be invited to complete annually in Washington DC.

The districts will seamlessly embed AEOP JSS and eCybermission into existing STEM curriculum. Other district initiatives include Rural LDC, Project-Based Learning, Robotics and Advanced Careers, all strengthening STEM education.

HSTW Ohio Network collaborating with HSTW NE Ohio Region and the state HSTW and MMGW networks will promote and assist in sustaining the AEOP grant efforts of the Rural STEM Collaborative to over 1,200 schools, 48,000 teachers and millions of students nationally through region, state and national conferences where teachers and student teams will share best practices.

For more information on AEOP:  http://www.usaeop.com/

For more information on Ohio HSTW: www.ohiohstw.org

For more information on the national HSTW: http://www.sreb.org/high-schools-work


Print This Article
© 2020. New London Local Schools. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website